Quick Answer: What Happens When A Pawn Reaches The Other End Of The Board?

What happens when a pawn reaches the other side of the board?

When a pawn reaches the opposite side of the board, it promotes. This means that the owner of the pawn can replace it with a queen, a rook, a knight, or a bishop of his own color, and put that piece instead of the pawn on the board on the square of the pawn. For example, look at the following position.

Can you have two queens on the board in chess?

The answer is – Yes, you can have two or eight Queens, even have more of your minor chess pieces (Bishop, Rook, Knight) during your chess game. This usually happens in the middle or end game, but sometimes it can also happen in the early game as well.

When you get a piece back in chess where does it go?

If the Pawn reaches the opposite side of the chessboard, it has the unique ability to promote to another chess piece. The pawn can become a Queen, Bishop, Rook, or Knight. There are no restrictions to how many pieces of a given type you can have via promotion.

What happens when a pawn becomes a queen?

Promotion in chess is a rule that requires a pawn that reaches its eighth rank to be replaced by the player’s choice of a queen, knight, rook, or bishop of the same color . The new piece replaces the pawn within the same move. Since the queen is the most powerful piece, the vast majority of promotions are to a queen.